PeerBerry is a popular P2P lending platform from Latvia. The P2P platform is strongly focused on connecting investors with non-banking loan companies which are also called loan originators. In this PeerBeerry review you will learn about my experiences with the P2P lending platform since I joined PeerBerry back in January 2018.

The aim of PeerBerry is to enable everyone to create passive income whilst investing into loans of other people. Loan companies don’t borrow their money from banks but investors like you and me.

Apart from the Peer to Peer platform Mintos, almost every P2P lending platform is focusing on a certain niche with the loan industry. PeerBerry helps to finance short-term loans for usually less than 30 days.

 

In this comprehensive PeerBerry review you will learn the following:

  1. Who can invest on PeerBerry?
  2. Diversification with PeerBerry
  3. PeerBerry statistics
  4. Investing in short-term loans
  5. PeerBerry Buyback Guarantee
  6. My PeerBerry portfolio
  7. My PeerBerry rating
  8. PeerBerry Review | Final Thoughts

 

If you are just about to start with P2P lending, you should read my full guide about how to invest in P2P loans, which covers the basics as well as the vocabulary related to P2P lending. You will learn everything you need to know before you transfer your money to one of the many P2P platforms. The article will also help you to decrease the risk of default and improve your returns.
.

peerberry-review
PeerBerry Overall Rating
80%
Diversification
75%
Returns
80%
Functionality & Usability
85%
Support
80%

Note that the rating for Returns does not represent the default rate but rather the amount of yield interest you will receive compared to other P2P platforms.

Sign up on PeerBerry and get +10% p.a. in returns!

Who can invest on PeerBerry?

Individuals and companies with EU accounts can sign up on PeerBerry and invest in loans. If you don’t reside in Europe and want to have an EU account, simply open one with TransferWise. Read how it works here. It’s free and it only takes a few minutes.

If you reside in Europe and are looking for a EUR account, I suggest looking at the accounts from Revolut and N26. It’s a digital bank account that you can open within 10 minutes.

You have to be at least 18 years old to be eligible to invest on PeerBerry. The sign up is painless and can be done with a few minutes.

Click here and choose to register, fill in your information and confirm your email address. Transfer your funds to PeerBerry - make sure you include the reference to your investment account when transferring money to PeerBerry so it can be allocated to you.

Be aware that you are investing money at your own risk. There is no deposit guarantee as you might be expecting for saving products. On the other hand, there aren't many investing opportunities that give you +10% of interest every year. 

Diversification with PeerBerry

As you might have noticed P2P lending is not a risk-free investment strategy. If you are just starting out I suggest you read my introduction into P2P-lending here.

There are several risks that you need to consider when investing into loans. With PeerBerry you are investing into short-term loans. In some countries, they are also called payday loans. Those consumer loans serve to finances urgent consumer needs and are usually not secured by anything substantial apart from borrower’s income.

The default rate of those short-term loans isn’t the lowest. That’s also the reason why companies charge an interest of 30% (ARP) and more for payday loans.

Diversification is the key to success. That’s valid for every asset class, even P2P lending.

PeerBerry offers the following diversification options:

  • 18 loan originators from seven countries
  • Minimal investment amount €10
  • Loan period between 10 and 60 days
  • Interest between 11% - 13%
  • Buyback Guarantee

PeerBerry offers financing to loan originators from the following countries: Czech Republic
Ukraine, Moldova, Denmark, Kazakhstan, Polen, Latvia. Occasionally, there is an opportunity to invest into a construction loan or leasing - however, this is rather rare.

If you have invested on other P2P platforms, such as Mintos, you probably notice that the diversification options are by far not as impressive on PeerBerry.

That’s however not a deal breaker and PeerBerry can be a good secondary peer to peer lending platform that will help minimize your platform risk. But more about that later.

PeerBerry Statistics

If you browse through the website you won’t find any interesting statistics about their operations and loan information. I was, however, curious and sent PeerBerry my questions.

Here are the answers:

As for today, we have 3139 registered investors.

Last Update: August 30, 2019

Summary
Reviewer
Jakub Krejci
Review Date
2019-06-11
Reviewed Item
Peerberry
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star

Average investment amount is 1860 EUR per client.

Last Update: August 30, 2019

Summary
Reviewer
Jakub Krejci
Review Date
2019-06-11
Reviewed Item
Peerberry
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star

Default rates differ in each country. For example in Poland the overdue (90+ days) could seek 10-12%, Czech Republic – 14-15%, Ukraine – 13-15%.

Last Update: August 30, 2019

Summary
Reviewer
Jakub Krejci
Review Date
2019-06-11
Reviewed Item
Peerberry
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star

Our due diligence consists of the evaluation of company/group structure, company/group financial statements, product and main procedures, loan portfolio. As for today, PeerBerry is working with real credible loan originators – Aventus Group and Gofingo. We are constantly tracking their performance, monitoring how the set strict key performance indicators are met. We are glad to see that loan originators we are working with absorbed investments properly: lending volumes and revenues are growing, credit risk hasn’t increased.

Last Update: August 30, 2019

Summary
Reviewer
Jakub Krejci
Review Date
2019-06-11
Reviewed Item
Peerberry
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star

Plans for the nearest future is to add new loan originators and launch installment loans.

Last Update: August 30, 2019

Summary
Reviewer
Jakub Krejci
Review Date
2019-06-11
Reviewed Item
Peerberry
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star

Note that some of the data might have changed. This short interview was conducted at the end of 2018.

Investing in short-term loans

 Now, let's look at the investment option PeerBerry has to offer. As with most P2P platforms, you can choose to invest manually or through their Auto-Invest.

Manual investing is simple and straightforward. You simply choose the variables and filter your results.

You can view certain loan information and if you click on the loan ID you can read even more info about a specific loan.

A piece of interesting information is the buyback guarantee. That means that if you invest in this loan, PeerBerry will buy back your investment if the payments of the borrower are late more than 60 days. I always use this option as it helps me avoid default loans.

Personally, I don’t invest manually on any P2P lending platform that has this Auto-Invest feature. I aim to treat P2P investments as passive as possible.

Luckily, PeerBerry supports automated investing through their simple Auto-Invest feature. You can define your loans that you want to invest in as well as countries of loan originators, buyback guarantee and the option to reinvest your returns.

I always reinvest. It helps exploit the compounding interest effect. As you can see I also ticked the buyback guarantee option to lower the risk of default.

PeerBerry Buyback Guarantee

Most loans listed on PeerBerry come with buyback guarantee so PeerBerry will buy back loans in full with accrued interest if a borrower is over 60 days late.

When investing into short-term loans it makes perfect sense to use the buyback guarantee. Either the P2P platform or the loan originator will take back the risk of default, so investors don’t need to deal with it.

You have seen the average default rates. PeerBerry, as well as the loan originator, have enough of a margin to cover for potentially defaulted loans.

Many readers often ask if PeerBerry is a safe platform. PeerBerry claims that investor’s money is segregated from the funds for business operations. PeerBerry does not disclose what would happen with your funds in the extremely unlikely event that the platform would go bankrupt.

Diversifying across various P2P platform is the only way to lower this kind of risk. I myself invest in three other P2P lending platforms such as Mintos, EstateGuru and Envestio.

My PeerBerry Portfolio

I started investing on PeerBerry two months after they launched in 2017. My position on PeerBerry is currently a bit above €3.000. I increased my portfolio size with time and I have never had any defaulted loans.

I feel safe to invest to build up my portfolio to about €5.000 to €10.000 and match my portfolio size on Mintos.

My PeerBerry Rating

PeerBerry Diversification

The diversification options on PeerBerry are limited. However, investors must consider that PeerBerry is a rather small P2P platform. Their core business is to finance payday loans mainly in eastern Europe and in the Baltic countries, where the interest for those forms of loans is very high.

PeerBerry only launched at the end of 2017 which is still just a few years ago. I have never had a situation where I could not invest funds into loans due to low availability which is otherwise often the case for many small P2P platforms.

For the size of the platform, the diversification options are fairly good in my opinion.

PeerBerry Returns

My net annual return on PeerBerry shows 10,77% which is more or less the same return as with Mintos.

Considering the fact that I am investing into high interest and high-risk short-term loans, the returns are rather small. Compared to other platforms, they are more or less the same.

Investors must also consider that most of the loans listed on PeerBerry come with the buyback guarantee which also has its price. Platforms that don’t offer buyback guarantee often list loans with higher returns. One must however always keep an eye on the risk that comes with P2P investments.

Functionality & Usability

PeerBerry is one of the easiest platforms to operate. They only have a handful of features compared to big platforms such as Mintos. PeerBerry is ideal for beginners who don’t look for complex Auto-Invest settings and rather invest money without too much time spent.

The design and functionality of the website are very intuitive. With a little bit of practice, investors can find anything with just a few clicks.

The platform is completely free. There are no fees that investors would have to pay.

Support

PeerBerry is one of the easiest platforms to operate. They only have a handful of features compared to big platforms such as Mintos. PeerBerry is ideal for beginners who don’t look for complex Auto-Invest settings and rather invest money without too much time spent.

The design and functionality of the website are very intuitive. With a little bit of practice, investors can find anything with just a few clicks.

The platform is completely free. There are no fees that investors would have to pay.

PeerBerry Review | Final Thoughts

PeerBerry is a very good platform for anyone who is looking for short-term capital commitment. Each investment is no longer than one month (in most cases) which means you can withdraw all your money from the platform within 30 days. This is an amazing benefit that most investors overlook.

In many cases, you lock up your capital for several months when investing on other P2P platforms. This can’t be done with PeerBerry. If you are looking for short-term gains, PeerBerry might be worth trying out.

Since my almost one and a half years with PeerBerry I never had any issues. I feel safe to increase my investment with this platform and put my money to work.

Share your experience

Have you tested PeerBerry yourself? How do you feel about investing on the platform? Share your thoughts in the comment section below.

Last Update:

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Peerberry
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked

This site uses Cookies such as Google Analytics that help to analyze this website's traffic. If you want to opt-out from Google Analytics, download this browser extension.
Disclaimer: This website may contain affiliate links. This means that I will earn a small commission if you do make a purchase at no additional cost to you. All opinions are my own. Learn more about it here.
Imprint: This site is operated by Jakub Krejci, Na Dolech 5166/44, 586 01 Jihlava, Czech Republic VAT CZ9307266364
© 2019 Kubasjourney.com